The Air Force Association (AFA) has named Roadside Attractions’ film “The Last Full Measure,” written and directed by Todd Robison, as this year’s winner for the most outstanding contribution in the field of arts and letters. The exceptional cast of Sebastian Stan, Christopher Plummer, William Hurt, Ed Harris Samuel L. Jackson. Diane Ladd, and the late Peter Fonda (in his final film role) has recently been gaining awards-season momentum. “The Last Full Measure” tells the true story of Vietnam War hero William Pitsenbarger (Jeremy Irvine), a U.S. Air Force Pararescue medic who saved nearly sixty men in the Army’s 1st Infantry Division before making the ultimate sacrifice in one of the bloodiest battles of the war. Thirty-two years later, Pentagon staffer Scott Huffman (Stan) investigates a decades-long Congressional Medal of Honor request for Pitsenbarger and uncovers high-level bureaucratic opposition prompting him to put his career on the line to seek justice for the fallen airman.

The Air Force Association was founded by noted aviation pioneer and Medal of Honor recipient, General James Doolittle, who was also the Association’s first president. Legendary Hollywood actor, Jimmy Stewart was an ardent volunteer leader and advocate for AFA for many decades. Today’s AFA President, LT General Bruce “Orville” Wright, USAF (Ret) said of the film, “Staff Sergeant Bill Pitsenbarger left Americans and the world with an incredible record of selfless commitment to the higher calling of saving the lives of his fellow warriors. To accomplish his mission, he engaged the enemy with exemplary and absolutely selfless courage. Our Air Force Family and Air Force Association will never, never forget Bill Pitsenbarger — one of our own and a fearless Airman and warfighter.”

The prestigious award will be presented to director Todd Robinson at the 2021 AFA National Convention in September at the Gaylord National Resort in Maryland.

Past recipients include: Edward R Murrow, Ted Koppel, Charles Krauthammer, Tom Clancy, Tom Brokow and Gary Sinise